Hand injury, week 96+

I opted to have the screw removed from scaphoid as I was noticing acute pain in that specific area. I had the operation on the 27th March 2015, and unwisely, elected to have it out with local anesthetic, not general anesthetic. Being awake for this ideal was not optimal, but we were unfortunately pressed for time for a appointment and having general anesthetic would have made this impossible. It’s hard to unsee something like this and I cringe occasionally at flashbacks. As readers if this blog will know, my wrist’s flexion is poor. Yet to get access to the scaphoid my wrist needed serious flexion to obtain access. So, pumped up with a (surprisingly painful) load of local anesthetic, the doc made his first cut…. A serious amount of cutting followed and wrist manipulations that caused a lot of bone cracking, nerve twinges and me wandering what the hell I was doing awake for this. Locating the exact position of the screw required in-situ x-rays. Took some time, but it was found. An electric screwdriver was used to extract it and I felt the torque it had on the bone as it pressed against the others. Acutrak-2-Family_0 Charming experience. Another 10 minutes and I was stitched up and released into the world outside the hospital. Was told it wouldn’t hurt too much afterwards. Well, that was a one-way joke. Loaded up on Endone only to feel nauseous and pathetic pain-targeting. I switched to Panadeine Forte (current) and am hoping pain subsides soon. Anticipate a follow up to this in 10 days time or so when the stitches are removed.

Leave a Reply

