Hand injury, week +4

My remaining stitches were removed, but the scar still requires significant healing. Because of this, they were not keen to put my hand in a proper cast. Rather, a different type of temporary support was utilised. This gives excellent support for the scaphoid bone.

e1_1

e2_1

Around this time I began finger physiotherapy and so far its gradually helping. I need to be rigorous with it to ensure good ongoing movement.

Four weeks in and the pain, even on mild meds, is significant. Often wake up in pain. Through the general numbness and aching of the entire region, I do feel sharpest of pains in what I presume to be the scaphoid. Hoping this is normal…..

Trying to remain positive in really trying times.

I’ve had contact from close friends and well wishers since it happened and it really means a lot. So to everyone who’s contacted me, thank-you.

Hats off to my girlfriend whose endless support is incredible. She does so much; cooking, cleaning and anything that’s makes things easier for me. Thanks Mel C2, you’re the best!

Leave a Reply

