Hand injury, week +1

What was expected my take 1 hour surgery , took 4. I’m told the surgeons did an amazing job, and from my amateur-take they really did. 

I awoke the next morning in a state of disbelief, actually a huge amount of denial. Huge amount of discomfort, numbness and this is on heavy meds. My hand was put in temp cast and the photos give a clue to the swelling and bruising underneath. My spirits were quite low, but support from my girlfriend, Mel C2,  made a huge difference. A friend also dropped by to visit me while still in the hospital, that meant a lot Mel C1, I really appreciated it.

Image

Image

 

The doctors removed the temporary cast and viewed the surgical work. They were basically happy with its progression, but felt the stitches required to stay in longer.

I distinctly remember the disconnected feel of my arm to my hand in the absence of the cast’s support. Also, the slightest lateral movement of the wrist was nasty. Holding my arm up was surprisingly difficult.

d5_1

d6_1

Leave a Reply

